World Ash

Anselm Kiefers

Anselm Kiefer: World Ash | Világ hamu

This painting is in the Stuttgart States Gallery also, I know it from my youth and for years loved it with a misunderstanding of the title in mind, because I mixed up ash with ass, so you see my personal connection with the Manzoni in a way. But when years ago I noticed my mistake, I didnt stop liking the work.
There exists a reproduction in the new catalogue of the states gallery, but I dont posess this, so I send you an image of a similar painting of Kiefer. The world ash is more dark, there is straw and burned pieces of wood arranged on it. It is about 3 on 4 Metres big.

Peter Haury

note

worldash

worldash3

worldash1

worldash4

Anselm Kiefer: World Ash | Világ hamu
edition of Peter Haury
Copy Shop Show, Stuttgart, 2009

1 Comment »

  1. Michael said

    Thank you for this. It’s so interesting to see Kiefer at work, hints as to his method, as well as to see him at all.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

